fountain

“You were right, I think. This place is huge, there’s room and then some. We could even finally have a real reading corner and a more comfortable area for the computers, I think we could even have an area for kids with padded seatings and all.” His eyes, oh they were so bright now. After his little breakdown about the idiocy of human though I’m pretty sure it is idiocy in all its form, I can imagine that demons might have made the same building mistakes, I gave him a few days to just relax, to not think about anything relating to the library in any way.

Of course, I made sure to keep his mind occupied on other things and he was too exhausted most of the time to even really form a coherent sentence. That was the way I’d wanted things to be. He needed to forget for a couple of days at least and that turned out to be mission more than possible. I know just which buttons to push.

Once I’d figured that he had rested plenty, I took him to the church. I’d called the guy who was selling the building first to set up an appointment and he was more than pleased to have a potential buyer come around to look at the place. He looked surprised, the seller that was, to hear that we were thinking of turning the old building into a library to replace the one that was falling apart downtown. Surprise aside, he opened up pretty quickly to the idea and I could see his mind coming up with dozens of plans as to how it could be achieved, even if it would be out of his hand once the sale took place.

Eoghan scrutinized the place from top to bottom, asked question after question, from the state of the foundations to the roof and everything in between. We even went out back and that was where he mostly stopped in his tracks and he laughed. I admit I was a little surprised too, I hadn’t expected to see a fountain, of all things, in the church’s backyard. I have no idea why it was there at all to begin with though it was beautiful and clean though currently not running and I figured it hadn’t run since the church had been put on sale.

The man, seeing our puzzled look, went on to explain that it seems as though, during the summer months, the fountain was used as a baptizing area. I exchanged a look with Eoghan but we let it be, if they wanted to use a fountain, it was up to them, really. It was lovely, it had nothing on it that would state it had been made with religion in mind. There were no crosses, no carved out saviour, no angels, nothing.

Eoghan took a good, long look at the yard and he nodded with a smile. It could very well work, a sort of outside reading area with the fountain and all.

We told the seller that we would have someone come along to examine everything though we trusted that he’d had his own professional do the once over. We just wanted to be sure that everything would last for a long time yet before we might decide on buying. He went with the idea, approving of it really and we each went our separate ways. I knew just who to get in touch with and I knew that if there was so much as a tiny little crack somewhere she would tell us. I wasn’t worried.

“But I still don’t really understand the whole fountain thing.” I shrugged, chuckling softly as I did. The fountain didn’t make much sense to me either but I didn’t much care, it was there, that was all there was to it in the end.

“It doesn’t matter much whether you understand the whole fountain thing or not, Eoghan. Think about it, it’s in good condition, there’s nothing on it that really screams ‘religion’ and once we replace the windows with just regular stained glass and not depictions of this so called saviour’s life, I think we’ll be pretty good to go. A little scrubbing here and there, some floor covering in places. Of course it’s likely we’ll need to buy new shelves but I think you’d already planned on that one anyway so it’s not much different from what you’d decided on from the start.”

He nodded, looking up at the wide doors with a little smile on his lips. It was a little distance from downtown, just barely, but I knew it was going to be exactly what he’d wanted. It would require less work, it would take less time to prepare and what would more than likely take longest was set up all the different areas, the shelves and move the books. I figured that right after the holidays, as the new year was bound to begin, we’d get that transfer going and we’d post up a sign outside the old library to tell them the place had been moved and set up the old building up for sale, making sure to let folks know the amount of work that needed to go into it, that they were better off tearing it down and starting over.

I’ve never believed in hiding the truth from people, at least the truth about these things. The truth about my roots was something else altogether and people weren’t ready for that kind of honesty.

As we walked away from the church altogether, Eoghan kept on glancing back and I had to keep myself from laughing. I knew he was hooked on this building and I’d done a pretty good job of showing it to him. It would be so much less stress than what he was going through at that very moment.

“Thank you, Lex.” Finally, he moved to link our fingers as he stepped beyond the fences that had been set up to keep kids out of the area while the building was on sale, something about keeping the walls free of graffiti and the windows unbroken. I’d seen it happen in the states but I’d never really seen it here in France in the little time I’d been about, still.

“Nothing to thank me for and you know this as well as I do. I just saw the place and I thought you might like it. That you came home pissed at the world helped me in making that decision but that’s all there is to that. It’s just a little bit of this and that.” I shrugged, squeezing his fingers gently as we kept walking. We’d come on foot, had taken the bus. The day had been chilly, almost cold but we thought that a good walk would keep our minds clear.

“Still, you put up with me when I get all rawr-world and at times I’m afraid you might get sick of my childish antics.” I stopped, looking at him for a long moment before I shook my head.

“Eoghan, you’re my world, you’ve been my world for decades and while I know that I nearly ruined us and again by disappearing when I felt my control slip, I would never grow tired of you or sick of your childish antics, as you put it. You’re perfect in my eyes and I wouldn’t change a single thing about you.” I squeezed his fingers again and he breathed in deeply, holding it in before he was exhaling. He nodded, a slow sort of nod.

“I will never, ever, I tell you, abandon you. If I do, it will be because of things that are absolutely out of my control and I will fight tooth and nail against whatever that might be so I can still be with you. I realized how wrong I’d been to leave you all those years and then come back and expect things to go back to the way they’d been before, I don’t want to do that kind of thing anymore, I just can’t.”

His eyes grew wet then and I pulled him closer, hugging him fiercely. He laughed against my shoulders, wiping his eyes before we stepped apart and simply started walking back to the bus stop. We all had our days, I knew. I wouldn’t hold this one against him.

Leave a Reply

